top of page

Project Coaching - a different take

When I was defining my offerings as The Unlibrarian, coaching came up. I even found myself coaching clients, being offered coaching and entered an entire world of coaching. Coaching is often commonly assumed to be "personal coaching" where a mentor lifts up a mentee to feel better about themselves, be able to consider that wonderful possibilities exist, and works with the person. I think this is great but I feel what I do is a tad different. Yes, I do have quasi-counselling sessions with clients, especially when it comes to confidential conversation surrounding health and disability and the bills. I also look at projects.


When I was teaching project management, the most common fallacy was not including planning periods or not enough time to allow for the ever lengthy processing systems at play while also balancing intense demands. Taking the time at the beginning always pays off second to being honest about barriers and timelines. That said, any project can be evaluated at any given time and the head(s) of the project always know when it is time.


As a librarian, I saw clients approach my desk when they needed me for a particular project. The goal for me was to see what was the project goal and where they were at that time then come up with questions and resources for them to take themselves the rest of the journey. Each project is its own journey. I look at the project and figure out the supplies needed for that journey then offer options which actually takes a lot of analysis to figure out and is not quite so simple; think of a novice shopkeeper versus an expert outfitter and the difference in their suggestions versus the individuals who outfit themselves. Neither is wrong but one is most efficient and often more economical in time, money and effectiveness. Really, unless you are working on a project that came with a manual, its up to you to make it up and plan it out from idea to finish. Choosing your support along the way matters.


A bonus in project coaching is that it allows for team dynamics at play while personal coaching is more individual based. In this way, I see my inspiration from the years I spent in a project-based teaching environment. The various players that are a part of a project impacts everything - they are important dynamics to maximize.


In my opinion, project based coaching allows for ideal transactional yet longitudinal business relationships to form, to evolve over time. It generates sustainable social capital within and from outside of various communities. We all grow together and make money, one project at a time. Have something that needs done? It is worth considering a project coach so the management can be done by your team.


The Unlibrarian



Picture from passenger window of a vehicle, capturing what is ahead in a blur behind the mirror, seeing the hand of photographer in the mirror in addition to the road behind leading to a sunset.
Rearview Sunset: Picture taken from passenger window of a vehicle, capturing what is ahead in a blur behind the mirror, seeing the hand of photographer in the mirror in addition to the blurred road behind leading to a sunset.

0 views0 comments

コメント


bottom of page