top of page

Blind Spots: what the car model designer may not consider

Today I had the usual fun experience of taking my vehicle for an oil change. Now, I am extremely grateful to have the vehicle I do because I love the safety features of it, ease of driving, and fewer visual blindspots plus sensors. I drive a 2018 Ford EcoSport. Now, I didn't always drive just one model. I started out loving hatchbacks and certain wagons; blindspots are notorious on most wagons. Correction, I started out in a 1988-89 era Red Dodge Ram with a bench seat. Well, today I had the option of a courtesy vehicle during the oil change and they only had the Edge. Now, the Ford Edge is a newer model to me. To me, it looks like a cross between a Ford Escape and a station wagon. I sat in the driver's seat and asked the kind lady to go to the four corners of the vehicle, she started at the passenger rear. I could not see her for a bit too long between the mirror and turning my head. Once, I figured out where she was, I signaled her to walk from there to the otherside. I lost her again for too long again. I turned around after and could see why: the molding on the inside between the rear hatch and the first rear window took up a lot of space. Plus, the rear window was tiny. Not Elantra tiny, but enough to notice. I mentioned to one of the other ladies later that it is a shame that they go through all the trouble of making a nice vehicle and put a tiny rearview window on it. All the mirrors would have to do better too. I did not rate this vehicle as safe to drive with my disabilities. This was not the first time encountering this as I had rented cars for a while and thoughtfully test drove a few before purchasing. Top on my list of vehicles that were horrible for blindspots were the Dodge Caliber and Elantra, then there was the Corrolla M. I will take almost any other small hatchback with decent mirrors any day. Mitsubishi Lancers are actually one of the few vehicles I have drive that easy switch from hatchback to sedan. I love that I can drive and am very pleased when I find ones that are accommodating. I do believe there is a vehicle for every driver and it is not about a particular make or model, but sometimes its like hearing aid brands: you find one that suits you and stick to it, at least until another designer changes it. I started out with a 2008 Nissan Versa Hatchback then had an older Mitsubishi Lancer Hatchback. Actually, on my drivers license it states that I must drive a vehicle that has to two mirrors to accommodate. Yes, at some point, not that long ago, cars were made with only a driver's side mirror. Now with backup cameras, driving cars is even better. I use backup cameras like a fourth mirror. I love how technology, even how automotive assistive technology has evolved. It has certainly made life more accessible for me; for which I am grateful!


Amanda, The unLibrarian

3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page